The Department comprises staff and  students distributed across five sites: the  University Department of Haematology in the Cambridge Institute of Medical Research, the Division of Transfusion Medicine in the National Blood Service Centre, Clinical Haematology in Addenbrooke’s Hospital, the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology and the Sanger Institute. See our locations here.

Academic and clinical staff and students within the Department often belong  to one primary research group, though may work with several more. Our research groups are principally directed by our senior staff.

We have a core administrative team (lead by Emma Newman, who oversee and implement many of the core departmental functions, including strategic development, University policy, human resources, finance and health and safety. In addition to the core administrative team, our research groups often have local administrators who provide specific support to each group.

The Department has strong commitment to gender equality and is part of the University of Cambridge School of Clinical Medicine which has achieved an Athena SWAN Silver Award